Who’s Who in 1919?

A. Mitchell Palmer
Luigi Galleani
Carrie Chapman Catt
Ida B. Wells

Woodrow Wilson

William Borah

John M. Browning
Babe Ruth
David Frazee
Will Brown
Milton Hoffman
Gutzon Borglum

Philip’s Section:

Charles H. Brough- Governor of Arkansas during the Elaine Race Riot.

John Dewey- primary influence of movement/ considered one of the fathers of functional psychology

Charles W. Eliot- group’s charter president

Hugh W. Ogden- Massachusetts State Auditor who submitted report on burst tank

Shmuel M. Rubinstein- leading a class at Harvard University unearthing the science of this disaster today
Eugene Williams- first casualty of “riot” (which was the reason conflict broke out) (race riot)
William Hale Thompson- Chicago’s mayor during 1919

Eugene Debs- Socialist, labor leader, and five time presidential candidate

Andrew Volstead- Republican Minnesota representative who managed its legislation and advocated prohibition
Franklin Delano Roosevelt- 32nd president of the United States who brought an end to prohibition

“Shoeless” Joe Jackson- American baseball player for the Chicago White Sox
Arnold Rothstein- was an American racketeer, businessman and gambler who was a kingpin of the Jewish mob in New York City